Purpose: Rule 4 covers the equipment that players may use during a round. Based on the principle that golf is a challenging game in which success should depend on the player’s judgment, skills and abilities, the player:
Normal use includes strokes, practice strokes and practice swings, as well as acts such as removing a club from and replacing a club into the golf bag. If wear through normal use occurs, the player's club is treated as conforming, and he or she may continue to use it.
Examples of wear through normal use include when:
If a player makes a stroke with a non-conforming club, the player is not disqualified if the stroke does not count in the player's score.
Examples of when the player gets no penalty for making a stroke with a non-conforming club include when:
Examples of repair include:
During a round, if a player discovers a non-permissible external attachment on their club (such as a sticker on the clubface), it may be removed without penalty and the club may be used to make a stroke so long as the club now conforms.
If the player does not remove the non-permissible external attachment and makes a stroke with the non-conforming club, the player is disqualified.
(Clarification added 4/2022)
With respect to Rule 4.1b(1), separated parts of a club are not a club and do not count towards a player's 14-club limit.
For example, if a player starts his or her round with 14 clubs and is also carrying separated club components, the player is considered to be carrying only 14 clubs and there is no breach of Rule 4.1b(1).
A club that has broken into pieces does not count towards the player's 14-club limit even when the player begins a round with that broken club.
For example, while warming up on the practice range, a player's club breaks just below the grip and the player starts the round with that broken club in his or her bag. That club does not count as one of the 14 clubs the player is allowed to carry.
The 14-club limit applies to any clubs being carried by the player, his or her caddie, or any other person he or she asks to carry clubs.
For example, if a player begins the round with 10 clubs and asks another person to walk along with the group and carry 8 additional clubs from which the player intends to add to his or her bag during the round, the player is considered to have started the round with more than 14 clubs
A club is considered added when the player makes his or her next stroke with any club while the added club is in the player's possession. This applies whether or not the player is allowed to add or replace a club.
For example, if a player who starts the round with 14 clubs decides to replace his or her putter with another putter between the play of two holes and does so without unreasonably delaying play, the player is not penalized if he or she realizes the mistake and corrects it prior to making the next stroke with any club.
The Rules do not restrict multiple players (such as partners) from carrying their clubs in one bag. However, to reduce the risk of penalty under Rule 4.1b, they should make sure the clubs are clearly identifiable to each player.
The prohibition against sharing clubs applies only to strokes that count in a player's score. It does not apply to practice swings, practice strokes or strokes made after the result of a hole is decided.
For example, there is no penalty under Rule 4.1b if, between the play of two holes, a player borrows another player's putter and makes several practice putts on the putting green of the hole just completed.
Rule 4.1b(4) restricts a player from building a club from parts that he or she is carrying or parts that any other person is carrying for him or her. It does not restrict the player from retrieving parts to build a club or having parts brought to him or her.
For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player's locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer's truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be "carried by anyone for the player during the round" and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.
If any player in a match has started play of a hole when a breach of Rule 4.1b is discovered, the match adjustment penalty is applied at the end of that hole. If the player in breach has not started that hole, he or she is between holes and is not in breach on the next hole.
For example, after completing the first hole, the player tees off on the second hole. Before the opponent tees off, the opponent becomes aware that he or she is carrying 15 clubs in breach of Rule 4.1b(1). Since the opponent has not started the second hole, the match score is only adjusted by one hole in the player's favour, but the match score is not revised until the second hole is completed since the second hole started when the player teed off.
If an extra club was taken out of play before a round and carried during the round, or a club was taken out of play during the round, it must not be used for the remainder of that round. This includes a situation where a player is allowed to replace a club, and is an additional restriction in Rule 4.1b(4).
(Clarification added 12/2018)
In a competition in which the Committee has not adopted the Local Rule requiring players to use a brand and model of ball on the current List of Conforming Golf Balls, a player may use the following golf balls:
However, brands and models that have been tested and found not to conform to the Equipment Rules must not be played, whether or not the Local Rule has been adopted.
If a player chooses to play a ball that is marked as "X-Out" or "Practice" by the manufacturer, or a ball that has been refurbished, these balls are treated as follows under the Equipment Rules:
If a player makes a stroke at a non-conforming ball or a ball not on the List of Conforming Golf Balls when the Local Rule is in effect, the player is not disqualified if the stroke does not count in the player's score.
Examples of when a player gets no penalty include when the player plays a ball that is not allowed:
Although a player may use his or her club as a plumb line to assist in judging or gauging slope and contours, there is other equipment that a player may not use in judging a slope or contour.
For example, a player is not allowed to gauge slope by:
Rule 4.3a(2) gives a single example of an artificial object not allowed to get wind-related information (powder to assess wind direction). However, other artificial objects must not be used for the sole purpose of getting wind-related information.
For example, if a player takes a handkerchief out for the sole purpose of holding it in the air to see which direction the wind is blowing, the player's action is a breach of Rule 4.3.
There is no breach of Rule 4.3a(4) if a player views video that is being shown for the benefit of spectators at a golf competition.
For example, if a player is standing on a tee waiting to play, and he or she is able to see a public screen showing live coverage of the competition, statistical information, wind speed or other similar things, there is no breach of the Rule 4.3 if the player watches the coverage or views the information, even if it could help the player in choosing a club, making a stroke, or deciding how to play.
Purpose of Interpretation: Rule 4.3 limits the use of equipment and devices that might help a player in his or her play, based on the principle that golf is a challenging game in which success should depend on the judgement, skills and abilities of the player. This interpretation of Rule 4.3 limits the size and scale of detailed putting green maps and any similar electronic or digital materials that a player may use during a round to help with reading his or her line of play on the putting green so that a player's ability to read a green remains an essential part of the skill of putting.
Putting Green Maps
The player is allowed to use a putting green map or other putting green information, except that:
Electronic or Digital Putting Green Maps
In electronic or digital form, any image of a putting green must meet the above scale and size limits. Even when an electronic or digital putting green map meets the above limits, the player is still in breach of Rule 4.3 if the player uses any device in a manner not consistent with the purpose of these limits, such as by:
Frequently Asked Questions: To view a document detailing frequently asked questions in relation to Green Reading Materials, click here. [Link not available in App.]
If a player places an “alignment device” (see Definition in Equipment Rules to see when a ball-marker meets this Definition) to show the line of play and then orients his or her ball based on the direction of that alignment device, the player is in breach of Rule 4.3a.
For example, a player’s ball comes to rest on the putting green and the player marks the spot of his or her ball with an “alignment device.” When doing so, the alignment device is placed to show the line of play. If the player then lifts and replaces his or her ball (which includes rotating it) so that a marking on the ball is lined up with the alignment device, the player is in breach of Rule 4.3a.
(Clarification added 1/2020)
For the first breach of Rule 4.3, the player gets the general penalty on the hole where the breach occurs. However, if the player breaches Rule 4.3 between the play of two holes, the penalty is applied to the next hole to be played.
For example, a player uses an alignment rod to check his or swing plane between the play of two holes.
In match play, the player loses the next hole or, in stroke play, he or she gets two penalty strokes and will start the next hole making his or her third stroke.
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Another ball played in case the ball just played by the player may be:
A provisional ball is not the player’s ball in play, unless it becomes the ball in play under Rule 18.3c.
The status of a player’s ball when it lies on the course and is being used in the play of a hole:
A ball that is not in play is a wrong ball.
The player cannot have more than one ball in play at any time. (See Rule 6.3d for the limited cases when a player may play more than one ball at the same time on a hole.)
When the Rules refer to a ball at rest or in motion, this means a ball that is in play.
When a ball-marker is in place to mark the spot of a ball in play:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
A player who competes together with another player as a side, in either match play or stroke play.
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The area on the hole the player is playing that:
The putting green for a hole contains the hole into which the player tries to play a ball. The putting green is one of the five defined areas of the course. The putting greens for all other holes (which the player is not playing at the time) are wrong greens and part of the general area.
The edge of a putting green is defined by where it can be seen that the specially prepared area starts (such as where the grass has been distinctly cut to show the edge), unless the Committee defines the edge in a different way (such as by using a line or dots).
If a double green is used for two different holes:
But the Committee may define an edge that divides the double green into two different putting greens, so that when a player is playing one of the holes, the part of the double green for the other hole is a wrong green.
The person a player competes against in a match. The term opponent applies only in match play.
The person a player competes against in a match. The term opponent applies only in match play.
The person a player competes against in a match. The term opponent applies only in match play.
The person or group in charge of the competition or the course.
See Committee Procedures, Section 1 (explaining the role of the Committee).
The specifications and other regulations for clubs, balls and other equipment that players are allowed to use during a round. The Equipment Rules are found at RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.
The specifications and other regulations for clubs, balls and other equipment that players are allowed to use during a round. The Equipment Rules are found at RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.
The specifications and other regulations for clubs, balls and other equipment that players are allowed to use during a round. The Equipment Rules are found at RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.
The person or group in charge of the competition or the course.
See Committee Procedures, Section 1 (explaining the role of the Committee).
The person or group in charge of the competition or the course.
See Committee Procedures, Section 1 (explaining the role of the Committee).
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Another ball played in case the ball just played by the player may be:
A provisional ball is not the player’s ball in play, unless it becomes the ball in play under Rule 18.3c.
Another ball played in case the ball just played by the player may be:
A provisional ball is not the player’s ball in play, unless it becomes the ball in play under Rule 18.3c.
The status of a player’s ball when it lies on the course and is being used in the play of a hole:
A ball that is not in play is a wrong ball.
The player cannot have more than one ball in play at any time. (See Rule 6.3d for the limited cases when a player may play more than one ball at the same time on a hole.)
When the Rules refer to a ball at rest or in motion, this means a ball that is in play.
When a ball-marker is in place to mark the spot of a ball in play:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
A form of play where a player or side plays directly against an opponent or opposing side in a head-to-head match of one or more rounds:
Match play can be played as a singles match (where one player plays directly against one opponent), a Three-Ball match or a Foursomes or Four-Ball match between sides of two partners.
A form of play where a player or side competes against all other players or sides in the competition.
In the regular form of stroke play (see Rule 3.3):
Other forms of stroke play with different scoring methods are Stableford, Maximum Score and Par/Bogey (see Rule 21).
All forms of stroke play can be played either in individual competitions (each player competing on his or her own) or in competitions involving sides of partners (Foursomes or Four-Ball).
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Anything used, worn, held or carried by the player or the player’s caddie.
Objects used for the care of the course, such as rakes, are equipment only while they are being held or carried by the player or caddie.
Interpretation Equipment/1 - Status of Items Carried by Someone Else for the Player
Items, other than clubs, that are carried by someone other than a player or his or her caddie are outside influences, even if they belong to the player. However, they are the player's equipment when in the player's or his or her caddie's possession.
For example, if a player asks a spectator to carry his or her umbrella, the umbrella is an outside influence while in the spectator's possession. However, if the spectator hands the umbrella to the player, it is now his or her equipment.
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations: